43 first-year students join Nebraska Business Honors Academy | Nebraska today

Forty-three incoming freshmen have accepted invitations to join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. Making up the academy’s 10th batch, the students number six US states and 13 communities in Nebraska.

“This cohort exemplifies how Huskers are creating the future they want to see,” said Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stewart Endowood Dean of the College of Business. “They bring to Nebraska Business a wealth of leadership experience and academic excellence. These students will hone their academic and leadership skills, stretching their strengths together as they transform into future business leaders.”

Cohorts complete the majority of their core and core business curriculum together using an action-based learning style focused on developing critical thinking, technical and communication skills. Students choose from 11 academic majors in the College of Business, including business and law, offered in partnership with the Nebraska College of Law.

“We are extremely excited to welcome our 10th cohort to the academy,” said Erin Burnett, director of the academy. “This marks a key milestone for our program and this group of students is the perfect compilation of talent, skills and ambition to join the ranks of the academy.”

New students will participate in leadership activities and student competitions across the country to improve their professional communication. Students will also participate in internships. This summer, more than 50 percent of the academy’s students are participating in paid internships in 13 states and two countries.

Academy students also study abroad. Since January, 28% of students have studied abroad in eight countries.

“These students are bright, eager and community-focused individuals, and I have no doubt that they will quickly find ways to make a positive impact on the academy, the business college and the university as a whole,” Burnett said. “Our team feels very honored to have a front-row seat as we help this cohort learn, grow and fulfill their potential as they progress through their college careers.”

Academy students participate in more than 150 student organizations on campus, serving in a variety of leadership roles. Graduates have taken their talents into careers and graduated from schools in 29 states and five countries.

Applications for the 2023 cohort open in August. Find out more.

The following students will join the fall 2022 cohort of the Nebraska Business Honors Academy. The student’s high school is included in parentheses if it is different from the hometown.



  • Grant Taylor, Business Administration


  • Carter Mann, Actuarial Science


  • Cassidy June, Business and Law (Milford)


  • Elise Estudillo, Accounting

Grand Island:

  • Emily Krupicka, Business Administration (Northwest)


  • Marie Conant, Business Administration (Adams Central)


  • Kiera Cummins, Actuarial Science (Lincoln Southeast)
  • Sadie Daniel, Business Administration (Lincoln Christian)
  • Eva Gronwald, Marketing (Lincoln East)
  • Dylan Klute, International Business (Pius X)
  • Savannah Miller, Actuarial Science (Lincoln High)
  • Josh Rossman, Business Administration (Lincoln East)
  • Madeline Splichal, Economics (Lincoln Southeast)


  • Connor Carpenter, Accounting


  • Maris Grabill, Business and Law (Burke)
  • Zach Herr, Marketing (Millard North)
  • Maggie Key, Economics (Skutt Catholic)
  • Tanner Maas, Actuarial Science (Gretna)
  • Sam Malik, Finance; (Creighton Prep)
  • Christine Roberts, International Business (Millard North)


  • Alyssa Felstad, Actuarial Science (Bellevue West)
  • Reece Flores, Marketing (Bellevue West)
  • Grace Schaefer, Supply Chain Management (Bellevue West)

Saint Helena:

  • Leah Reichle, Finance (Hartington-Newcastle)


  • Carson Downs, Business and Law (Louisville)


  • Gavin Pokorny, Finance (Wahoo)


Longmont, Colorado:

  • Madeline Cover, International Business (Erie)

Parker, Colorado:

  • Eric Jacob, Business and Law (Legend)

Windsor, Colorado:

  • Maren Tuell, Supply Chain Management (Fossil Ridge)

Aurora, Illinois:

  • Lily Cooper, Supply Chain Management (Rosary)

Monticello, Illinois:

  • Jackson Grambart, Accounting

Naperville, Illinois:

  • Drew Donovan, Accounting (Benet Academy)

New Lenox, Illinois:

  • Luke Mostello, Actuarial Science (Lincoln-Way Central)

Roselle, Illinois:

  • Ashwin Manur, Economics (James B. Conant)

Hays, Kansas:

  • Madeline Martin, Marketing

Lenexa, Kansas:

  • Abby King, Management (Olathe Northwest)

Bloomington, Minnesota:

  • Gretchen Holland, Finance (Eagle Ridge Academy)

Prior Lake, Minnesota:

  • Emma Higgins, Supply Chain Management

Rochester, Minnesota:

  • Hannah LaMaster, Actuarial Science (May)

Tracy, Minnesota:

  • Kaylee Campbell, Actuarial Science

Waconia, Minnesota:

  • Joseph Meath, Business Administration

Kansas City, Missouri:

  • Will Wooden, Actuarial Science (Rockhurst)

Parkville, Missouri:

  • Sarah Montalbano, Marketing (Park Hill South)

Leave a Comment