Atlantic nations join pact for cooperation in marine science

The United States joined leaders from six nations and the European Union today in Washington, D.C., to sign the All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Alliance (AAORIA) Declaration, in which nations pledge to collaborate on ocean research for the health of environment and sustainable development of the Atlantic Ocean.

Atlantic-Wide Keynote by Rick Spinrad

NOAA Administrator Rick Spinrad said, “The ocean is a vital source of data to drive the new blue economy—our ability and capacity to address environmental and societal challenges.” Courtesy of the All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Alliance

The declaration recognizes a shared commitment to advancing marine research and building on previous transatlantic collaborations. Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cape Verde, Morocco and South Africa have also signed the agreement. The signatories of the declaration were joined by officials from Colombia, the United Kingdom, the Dominican Republic, Norway and Ghana, who also expressed their country’s respective commitment to Atlantic Ocean Research and Cooperation.

“The Atlantic Research and Innovation Alliance is essential for NOAA, the United States and the world,” said Rick Spinrad, Ph.D., NOAA administrator, who offered the keynote remarks before the signing ceremony. “The Atlantic Ocean is an invaluable resource shared by all Atlantic nations and beyond. Effective collaboration in marine research and innovation is needed to inform the sustainable management of human activities and to ensure a healthy ocean for all communities that depend on it now and in the future.

During this week’s Pan-Atlantic Forum in Washington, scientists and senior leaders from across the Atlantic participated in discussions on a range of topics, including the need to increase ocean literacy, building ocean research capacity, reducing pollution, ocean and climate science, ocean monitoring, marine ecosystems, a sustainable ocean economy, as well as sustainable aquaculture and fisheries.

Signed the Atlantic Ocean Exploration Agreement

Signed the Atlantic Ocean Exploration Agreement

Representatives of the United States, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cape Verde, Morocco, South Africa and the European Union celebrate after signing the Atlantic Alliance for Research and Innovation Declaration. Courtesy of the All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Alliance

AAORIA is the result of a science diplomacy effort involving countries from across the Atlantic basin. It builds on the success of two existing cooperation agreements – the Galway Declaration on Transatlantic Cooperation, which was signed by the EU, the United States and Canada in 2013; and the Belem Declaration on Transatlantic Research and Innovation Cooperation, which was signed by the EU, Brazil and South Africa in 2017, as well as on a number of other bilateral and multilateral agreements.

Any organization or institute from an Atlantic nation is encouraged to participate in AAORIA’s collaborative scientific, research and innovation activities. International organizations with an interest in working in the Atlantic Ocean are also welcome to participate and contribute to AAORIA’s activities. Participants do not need to have signed the declaration signed today to participate in AAORIA activities.

For more information about the All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Alliance, please visit the AAORIA website.

For more information, please contact Monica Allen, Director of Public Affairs for NOAA Research, at [email protected] or 202-379-6693.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.