ESPN’s guide to Pride Nights in the major professional sports leagues

A month of pride. The time of year when companies and sports teams cover their arenas and stadiums in a rainbow and hand out Pride captain’s armbands and T-shirt numbers to their players. Most teams, including many of the major US professional leagues, host Pride Night in June. If you want to know where to attend the next night of pride, read on.

Go to: MLB | NFL | WNBA | NBA | NWSL | MLS


Arizona Diamondbacks: June 25 against the Detroit Tigers

Atlanta Braves: June 22 against the San Francisco Giants

Baltimore Orioles: June 22 against the Washington National

Boston Red Sox: June 15 against Auckland Athletics

Chicago Cubes: June 29 vs. Cincinnati Reds Released at Wrigley: September 18 against the Colorado Rockies

Chicago White Sox: June 23 against the Baltimore Orioles

Cincinnati Reds: June 3 against the Washington National

Cleveland Gardens: June 25 against the Boston Red Sox

Colorado Rockies: June 3 against Atlanta Braves

Detroit Tigers: June 1 against Minnesota Twins

Houston Astros: June 21 against the New York Mets

Kansas City Royals: June 9 against the Baltimore Orioles

Los Angeles Angels: June 28 against the Chicago White Sox

Los Angeles Dodgers: June 3 against the New York Mets

Miami Marlins: June 2 against the San Francisco Giants

Milwaukee Brewers: June 8 against Philadelphia Phillies

Minnesota Gemini: July 15 against the Chicago White Sox

New York Mets: June 17 against Miami Marlins

Auckland A: June 17 against Kansas City Royals

Philadelphia Phyllis: June 28 against Atlanta Braves

Pittsburgh Pirates: June 17 against the San Francisco Giants

San Diego Padres: It was May 6 against the Miami Marlins

San Francisco Giants: June 11 against the Los Angeles Dodgers

Seattle Mariners: June 30 against Auckland A.

St. Louis Cardinals: June 10 against the Cincinnati Reds

Tampa Bay Flight: June 4 against the Chicago White Sox

Toronto Blue Jays: June 3-5 against Minnesota Twins

Washington Nationals: June 14 against Braves


Pride Nights are a relatively new phenomenon for top-level football, as Washington (then Football Team, now Commanders) was the first to host one during a match, and that was last year.

Most teams combined with the league itself take off-field initiatives in the LGBTQ + space, but actual game nights are rare, as Pride Month falls outside the NFL season.

At the time of writing, no NFL team has announced their theme nights, only the regular season schedule.


Atlanta’s Dream: June 24 and 26: New York Liberty and the Connecticut Sun

Chicago Sky: June 10 against the Connecticut Sun.

Connecticut Sun: June 10 against Chicago Sky

Indiana Fever: June 9 against Phoenix Mercury

New York Liberty: June 28 against Dallas Wings

Washington Mystics: June 22 against Phoenix Mercury

Dallas Wings: June 25 against Phoenix Mercury

Las Vegas Aces: June 5 against the Dallas Wings

Los Angeles Sparks: June 25 against Seattle Storm

Minnesota Links: June 12 against Indiana Fever

Phoenix Mercury: June 10 against Atlanta Dream

Seattle Storm: June 25 against the Los Angeles Sparks


Like the NFL, the NBA is reluctant to focus on June because the regular season is in the books and the focus is on the finals. But individual teams host Pride Nights on an ad hoc basis, with the Chicago Bulls serving a fabulous event this year.

Some teams, such as the Los Angeles Lakers, hosted Pride Nights in October, the month of LGBTQ + history, while last April the Phoenix Suns hosted the first private night of pride since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

But there is no set schedule for Pride Nights in the NBA, so follow your team’s social media.

National Women’s Football League

Angel City FC: June 7 against Houston Dash

Chicago Red Stars: June 1 against Washington Spirit

Houston Dash: June 12 against Portland Thorns

Kansas City Talk: June 4 against San Diego Wave

Gotham FC: June 4 against Washington Spirit

Courage in North Carolina: July 15 against Angel City FC

OL Reign: July 1 against North Carolina Courage

Orlando Pride: It was on May 27 against Washington Spirit

Portland Thorns: June 3 against Angel City FC

Louisville Races: June 4 vs. North Carolina Courage

San Diego Wave FC: June 8 against Portland Thorns

Washington Spirit: June 11 vs. North Carolina Courage September 10 against San Diego Wave

Premier League football

Atlanta United: The only home game in June for United is Juneteenth, so a group of LGBTQ + supporters is working with the club to schedule a pride party on June 25th.

Austin FC: June 25 against Dallas FC

CF Montreal: August 6 against Inter Miami

Charlotte FC: June 30 against Austin FC

Chicago Fire FC: June 29 against Philadelphia Union

Colorado Rapids: It was on May 22 against the Seattle Saunders

Columbus Crew: June 18 against Charlotte FC

DC United: June 25 against Nashville SC | August 6 against New York Red Bull

Cincinnati FC: July 9 against the New York Red Bulls

Dallas FC: June 18 against Vancouver Whitecaps

Houston Dynamo: June 25 against Chicago Fire

Inter Miami: Inter participated in Soccer For All in May, but there seems to be no specific Pride Night scheduled

LA Galaxy: It was on May 29 against Austin FC

Los Angeles FC: June 26 against the New York Red Bulls

Minnesota United: July 30 against Portland

Nashville SC: June 11 against the earthquakes in San Diego

New England Revolution: June 15 against Orlando City

New York Red Bulls: TBD

New York City: It was on May 22 against Chicago Fire

Orlando City SC: October 9 against Columbus Crew

Philadelphia Union: June 26 against New York City FC

Portland Timbers: June 25 against Colorado Rapids

Real Salt Lake: TBD

San Jose Earthquakes: It was on May 22 against Sporting Kansas City

Seattle Saunders: June 25 against New York City FC

Sporting Kansas City: June 12 against the New England Revolution

Toronto FC: It’s not clear

Vancouver Whitecaps: July 23 against Chicago Fire

Outside the United States

Many countries outside the United States tend to do a Night of Pride throughout the league rather than team by team. The English Premier League, for example, holds Rainbow Lace Day every year, usually in early December, while the Australian Men’s Football League, A-League, held its first pride event earlier this year. The host was Adelaide United, who have Josh Cavallo, the only out player in the league, on their team.

In the Netherlands, professional football leagues, from Eredivie Down, host a round of meetings that draw attention to the LGBT + community, usually scheduled around International Release Day on 11 October.

This page will be added and edited when the information becomes available.

Leave a Comment