Technical Working Group for the Implementation of Advanced Technology for the Prevention of Disability Driving

US Senator Ben Ray Lujan

From the office of US Senator Ben Ray Luhan:

WASHINGTON, District of Columbia – US Senator Ben Ray Luhan (DN.M.), US Representative Debbie Dingle (D-Mich.) And a panel of more than a dozen technical experts on car safety announced on Tuesday the formation of a new Technical Working Group to support the implementation of advanced technology to prevent disability driving, as recently passed by Congress.

The bipartisan provision in the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, supported by Senator Luhan, signed in November 2021, calls on the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to implement technology-neutral rules to prevent disruptive driving and to issued a motor vehicle. safety standard within three years, until November 2024. Implementation in vehicles will begin two to three years after the standard is issued.

“With the enactment of the RIDE / HALT Act into the Two-Party Infrastructure Act, the United States is one step closer to ending drunk and disabled driving. “As a survivor of a drunken crash, I am proud to lead this initiative, which will save thousands of lives each year and prevent families from receiving the painful call to lose a loved one,” Luhan said. “Now Congress must ensure that the federal government is fully consistent with the implementation of this law. The technical working group announced today will provide key support to ensure that this bill becomes a reality.

“We have the technology to prevent drunk driving – which is the biggest cause of trafficking deaths in our country – and it’s time to use it and save lives,” Dingle said. “When Congress passed my legislation requiring car manufacturers to install anti-drunk driving technology as standard equipment in new vehicles, we sent a clear message that we need to end this trauma now. As NHTSA begins the rulemaking process, the Technical Working Group will ensure that this technology is implemented quickly and efficiently. Together we can stop drunk driving in this country once and for all.

The Technical Working Group is co-chaired by Stephanie Manning, Chief Government Officer at Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), and Dr. Jeffrey Michael, a distinguished scientist at the Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy and former associate administrator at NHTSA.

“The requirement for impaired driving technology in the new legislation is one of the most significant achievements in car safety after the seat belt, with the potential to prevent 90 percent of deaths from drunk driving when fully deployed in the car fleet,” said Michael. . “Congress has made it clear in setting the requirements for the rule-making process that aggressive action is needed to stop injured driving deaths.

“We understand that this is a very important regulatory endeavor, but it is also necessary because it has the potential to save so many lives and essentially eliminate disrupted driving, the leading cause of death in road accidents,” Manning said. “We plan to provide the best information on currently available technologies and developments from other regulators and the supplier community around the world to make the implementation of this life-saving technology a success. We need this technology to prevent passive driving with disabilities, implemented as soon as possible to reverse the growing crisis on our roads. “

The Technical Working Group is an independent body composed of experts with extensive knowledge of vehicle safety technologies, the regulatory process of the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) and public health initiatives:

  • Nat Beuse, Vice President of Safety, Aurora; Member of the board of MADD
  • Kadija Feriman, PhD, Assistant, School of Public Health John Hopkins Bloomberg
  • Shannon Frataroli, PhD, Director, John Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy
  • Kelly Funkhauser, Software Manager, Vehicle Technology, Consumer Reports
  • Sean Kilder, Ph.D., Director of Research, Defenders of Highway and Highway Safety
  • Anders Lee, PhD, retired, former board member of the European New Car Assessment Program (Euro NCAP); Former Traffic Safety Specialist, Swedish Transport Administration
  • Stephanie Manning, Chief Government Officer, MADD
  • Jeffrey Michael, EdD, Distinguished Scientist, John Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy
  • Stephen Oesh, retired, former senior vice president, Insurance Institute for Road Safety
  • Roger Sol, Ph.D., retired, former director, Center for Vehicle Research and Testing, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
  • Ken Snyder, executive director, Shingo Institute, Utah Huntsman School of Business; MADD volunteer and victim of driving difficulties
  • Don Tracy, retired, former Vice President, DENSO North America
  • David Zubi, Executive Vice President and Chief Research Officer, Road Safety Insurance Institute

The group will invite others with specific experience to assist during its procedures.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.